Regis: From Birmingham to Bratislava

My interview with Regis about Bratislava, Subclub, Depeche Mode in 1981 and the ultimate techno drink hruškovica. In Electronic Beats.

„On my first visit to Bratislava I stayed in a hotel, which seemed more like a prison cell of the Communist Secret Police. My room actually had no bed in it! Just some strange sort of couch and a view over dark concrete blocks. My memory of the era is actually very vivid. It was acompletely different city from what it is now. Bratislava became very much a Western European capital metropolis. I’m glad that in 1998 I still saw most of the scars of the Communist regime. It was a mournful place. On the other hand, many places reminded me strongly of Birmingham, where I come from.“

Schreibe einen Kommentar

